• Topic Title

• Topic description
Seen a great idea in your local pub quiz? Looking for advice on how to run your own one? Use this forum to discuss anything to do with setting and running quizzes.

Moderators: playgirl, JUS, rodbox

#140169 by geppsdood
Sat Jun 23, 2012 1:05 pm
I've been running a pub quiz for 3 years now. The last round I always call a "mystery round" where i'll give 10 cryptic clues, or maybe 10 Alphanumerics, or play 10 TV themes, you get the picture. It's different every week.

I've had local trivia, missing links, family fortunes, nursery rhyme initials, not so simple,

Thing is, after 156 different ones, it's hard to try and think of some. Any ideas?
I could really use a little inspiration.

Thanks in advance, everyone.

#140176 by JUS
Sat Jun 23, 2012 4:49 pm
You had dingbats? or maybe an all or nothing round where you don't have to answer every question, but all that you do answer must be right else you score zero for the round?

#140727 by geppsdood
Sat Jul 07, 2012 12:01 pm
Yeah, I've kind of overdone the Dingbats. I like the idea of All or Nothing though. That's great! ANy more ideas though folks? Keep them coming

#142872 by Rob_Bob
Wed Aug 29, 2012 3:02 pm
Variations upon the theme of join them up can be good, list 10 things and 10 things linked to them out of order on a piece of paper. Get your quizzers to draw the line between the connected items.

#144886 by Zevon
Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:33 pm
Any chance you could post some of your mystery rounds. After 8+ yeats I am certainley losing my mojo, and my yet again "Final Quiz2 is in November. I am working on a handout and will post in due course.

#144942 by geppsdood
Fri Oct 19, 2012 10:40 am
I'll certainly get round to it Zevon. To give you some inspiration, some of the rounds I do are:

- Ditloids (Alphanumerics)
-Missing Links (eg, give three words, what word connects them all)
- Odd One Out
- Movie Quotes (Either written OR audio)
- Cryptics